Agents and editors will be visiting the Loft April 20-21, 2018 to hear about your work. Register now for the Pitch Conference.

2017–2018 Loft Mentor Series


The Loft Mentor Series in Poetry and Creative Prose is now closed. The deadline for entry was April 28, 2017.

2017–2018 Mentor Series

The Loft Mentor Series in Poetry and Creative Prose offers twelve emerging Minnesota writers the opportunity to work intensively with six nationally acclaimed writers of prose and poetry. Congratulations to the twelve selected fellows: in nonfiction Victoria Blanco, Michele Micklewright, Joan Maeda Trygg, and Nneka Onwuzurike; in poetry Preeti Kaur Rajpal, Micki Blenkush, Jasmin Ziegler, and Hallie Wiederholt; in fiction Lara Palmqvist, Claire Comstock-Gay, Karen Gu, and Maya Beck.

The mentors for the upcoming season will be poets Jennifer Kwon Dobbs and Chris Abani, nonfiction writers Diane Wilson and Richard Blanco, and fiction writers Lesley Nneka Arimah and Vu Tran. Please read the full press release below to learn more about this year's fellows. More information will be available about the Mentor Series events this winter.

2017–18 Fellows (PDF Press Release)

The Loft Mentor Series in Poetry and Creative Prose is funded by the Jerome Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and by the generous support of Loft members.

Frequently Asked Questions