Agents and editors will be visiting the Loft April 20-21, 2018 to hear about your work. Register now for the Pitch Conference.

McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers


2018 McKnight Artist Fellowships

The deadline for entry was Friday, November 24, 2017 at 11:59 p.m. (CST).

The Loft Literary Center is pleased to announce the 2018 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers, made possible by the generous support of the McKnight Foundation. McKnight also funds artist fellowship programs in ceramic arts, choreography and dance, music composition, music performance, playwriting and theater arts, screenwriting, and visual arts. Five $25,000 fellowships are awarded. McKnight Fellows are also entitled for additional reimbursement of up to $3,000 to attend a writing conference within their fellowship year. One award in Children’s Literature alternates annually between writers for children under the age of eight and writers for older readers. Four fellowships alternate annually between writers of poetry/spoken word poetry and writers of creative prose. The awards this year are in Poetry, Spoken Word, and Children Younger Than Eight. For the first time, the three awards in Poetry and one in Spoken Word will be evaluated by different judges. 

Please download and read the full guidelines before beginning your application.



This program is made possible by the generous support of the McKnight Foundation.

2017 McKnight Artist Fellowship Recipients

The Loft is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers in Creative Prose and Children's Literature (Older Children).

For the award in Creative Prose, judge Kiese Laymon selected Erin Kate Ryan, Susan Follett, Heid E. Erdrich, and Taiyon J. Coleman. Honorable mentions went to Rebecca Kanner, Lori Saroya, Tami Mohamed Brown, and Juliet Patterson.

For the Award in Children's Literature (Older Children), judge Kate Messner chose Brian Farrey. Honorable mentions went to Elizabeth Karre, Alison Behnke, Megan Atwood, and Jane O'Reilly.

Learn More

About the Fellowships

The Loft administers the McKnight Artists Fellowships for Writers. Five $25,000 awards are presented annually to accomplished Minnesota writers and spoken word artists. Four awards alternate annually between creative prose (fiction and creative nonfiction) and poetry/spoken word. The fifth award is presented in children’s literature and alternates annually for writing for ages eight and under and writing for children older than eight. Writers must have either published a book in the genre in which they are applying, or have a significant number of publications in literary magazines. The awards provide the writers the opportunity to focus on their craft for the course of the fellowship year. 

McKnight Fellowship FAQs

The Loft McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers are supported by the McKnight Foundation.