Featured class: Queer Poetics with Juliet Patterson starts February 15. 

Minnesota Emerging Writers' Grant


The Minnesota Emerging Writers’ Grant provides writers with financial support and professional assistance to develop and implement multifaceted plans for their artistic endeavors.

Up to five winners will be selected to receive grants of $8,000 to underwrite projects of their own design. Please read the guidelines closely before applying.

There will be two info sessions 1) in Minneapolis on Tuesday, February 21, 6–7:30 p.m., Open Book, Performance Hall, 1011 Washington Ave. S. and 2) in Duluth on Saturday, February 25, 1:30 p.m., Fireside Room, Historic Fitger’s Complex, 600 E Superior Street, Duluth, MN.

Deadline to apply is March 31, 2017 at 11:59 p.m.

Guidelines (PDF)


The Minnesota Emerging Writers' Grant is supported by a grant from the Jerome Foundation and by Loft members.

2016 Minnesota Emerging Writers' Grant Recipients

The Loft received 228 qualified entries to the 2016 Minnesota Emerging Writers’ Grant competition. Applications were reviewed by a panel of four teaching artists from Voice of Our Nation (VONA), the only multigenre workshop for writers of color in the nation, bringing writers of color from the margins to a community where their work is centralized and honored. The panel narrowed the field down to 17 finalists. From those 17, they selected five writers who will each receive $8000 awards as well as two alternates. The remaining finalists are listed as honorable mentions.

Grants were awarded to:

  • multigenre writer Amy Fladeboe of Minneapolis

  • creative prose writer Elly Zaragoza of Mankato

  • fiction writer Erin Kate Ryan of Minneapolis

  • creative prose writer Mike Kubista of Mankato

  • poet Su Hwang of Minneapolis

First and second alternates were poet Anaïs Deal-Marquez (Minneapolis) and creative prose writer Ryan Berg (Minneapolis).

Honorable mentions went to Cheri Johnson (multigenre, Minneapolis), Christina Schmid (creative prose, Minneapolis), Christopher Vaughan (poetry, Minneapolis), Hilal Isler (Saint Paul, creative prose), Jennifer Murray (Saint Paul, Creative Prose), Junauda Petrus (multigenre, Minneapolis), Rebecca Frost (multigenre, Minneapolis), Taylor Seaberg (multigenre, Saint Paul), Thomas Kevin O’Rourke (poetry, Minneapolis), and Timothy Hennum (fiction, Minneapolis).