Contests and Grants

Want to submit your own writing contest or grant opportunity?

Go to our community posting page, fill out the form, and select contest or grant.

2018 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

Posted on Mon, Oct 23 2017 1:56 pm by Sonia Lee

Author's email Author's URL

Submissions are now being accepted for the 8th William Saroyan International Prize for Writing. Given by Stanford Libraries in partnership with the William Saroyan Foundation, the award recognizes newly published works of fiction and nonfiction with a $5,000 award for the winner in each category.

The prize is designed to encourage new or emerging writers and honor the Saroyan literary legacy of originality, vitality, and stylistic innovation. For entry forms and more information on the prize, visit the Saroyan Prize website:
Congratulations to our 2016 Fiction Winner T. Geronimo Johnson, author of Welcome to Braggsville, and our 2016 Nonfiction Winner Lori Jakiela, author of Belief Is Its Own Kind of Truth, Maybe.

Entries must be received by January 31, 2018.