Promoting or looking for book clubs, calls for submissions, contests, or writing services? Community Postings

McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers


2016 McKnight Artist Fellowships

The deadline for entry is Friday, November 6, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. (CST).

The Loft Literary Center is pleased to announce the 2016 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers. The Loft administers the McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers, which provide Minnesota writers of demonstrated ability with an opportunity to work on their writing for a concentrated period of time. Five $25,000 fellowships are awarded. One Award in Children’s Literature alternates annually between writers for children under the age of eight and writers for older readers. Four fellowships alternate annually between writers of poetry/spoken word poetry and writers of creative prose. The awards this year are in Poetry & Spoken Word and Children Younger Than Eight.

Please download and read the full guidelines before beginning your application.

Poetry/Spoken Word Guidelines

Children's Literature Guidelines

Apply Here for Both Awards

This program is made possible by the generous support of the McKnight Foundation.

2015 McKnight Artist Fellowship Recipients

The Loft is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers in Creative Prose and Children's Literature (Older Children).

For the award in Creative Prose, judge LeAnne Howe selected Susanne Aspley, Shannon Gibney, Josh Ostergaard, and Susan Power. Honorable mentions went to Danielle Sosin, Nancy Scott Hanway, Tami Mohamed Brown, and Eric Vrooman.

For the Award in Children's Literature (Older Children), judge Connie Hsu chose Kelly Barnhill. Honorable mentions went to Megan Atwood, Laura Salas, and Lynne Jonnell.

Learn More

About the Fellowships

The Loft administers the McKnight Artists Fellowships for Writers. Five $25,000 awards are presented annually to accomplished Minnesota writers and spoken word artists. Four awards alternate annually between creative prose (fiction and creative nonfiction) and poetry/spoken word. The fifth award is presented in children’s literature and alternates annually for writing for ages eight and under and writing for children older than eight. Writers must have either published a book in the genre in which they are applying, or have a significant number of publications in literary magazines. The awards provide the writers the opportunity to focus on their craft for the course of the fellowship year. 

McKnight Fellowship FAQs

The Loft McKnight Artist Fellowships for Writers are supported by the McKnight Foundation.