Minnesota 2017 Poetry Out Loud Champions

Anna Kochevar of Arcadia Charter School (Northfield) was named the winner of the 2017 Poetry Out Loud competition with her recitation of "The Gaffe" by CK Williams, "Dear Reader" by Rita Mae Reese, and "The Idler" by Alice Moore Dunbar-Nelson.

In April of 2017, Kochevar represented Minnesota at the national finals in Washington, D.C. She competed with champions from all fifty states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.

Other 2017 Minnesota Champions

  • Runner-up: Abigail Etterson—Harbor City International School, Duluth 
  • 3rd Place: Awazi Jaafaru—Twin Cities Academy High School, St. Paul

Congratulations and thank you to all the 2017 Minnesota State Poetry Out Loud competitors.